View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

'Treasure Coast' WTF?

SunriseChampion

Bluelighter
I recently acquired some 'Treasure Coast' mushrooms which are a strain of P. cubensis after previously living off 'Golden Teachers' for the last year and a half.

So I'm no expert in mycology (I'm just some guy) but I was under the impression that the range of active alkaloids between different strains of P. cubensis was fairly restricted.

However........

...last weekend, I made a pot of tea for me and two mates using ~3g of mushroom (I always eye out my tea doses...best of luck ;) ) after an afternoon of drinking pints at High Park. Upon onset, I was struck by how strong the effects were for what should have been a very mild dose.

Now, last night, I made another pot of tea, this time for just two of us and using less mushroom (~1.5g). You'd think after two cups (about two-thirds of pot, divided between the two of us) the effects would be beyond mild. Not so much. Quite intense relationship with the music we were listening to ensued, not to mention the pretty serious CEVs.

So what's with this strain? What combination of alkaloids does it contain in what concentrations to make it seem about twice as potent as 'Golden Teachers'?
Anyone have any experiences with this strain and can confirm I'm not just imagining things?

It's probably more to do with just the potency of this strain, rather than its particular mixture of alkaloids. I don't know the strain at all myself, but the % of psilocybin content can vary by quite a bit in mushrooms, even between different batches of the same strain.

Treasure Coast are known as US strongest native. Are you growing yourself? What media? Huatlah was my fav strain, and after trial and error I got media just right. All the info showed 4to 5 grams dried as good starter dose for me. ( 6.1/ 200). Shit, 2.5 was nearly unpleasant.