• SPORTS
    AND
    GAMING
  • Sports & Gaming Moderators: ghostfreak

The Bicycle Thread

Care

Bluelight Crew
My new hobby is road biking, so I thought i'd start a thread about all things related to riding.

I currently ride a 2013 Raleigh Revenio 3.0. It has full SHimano 105 components and a carbon front fork with an aluminum frame.

I just went on my longest ride ever today, roughly 45 miles through some hilly terrain, and I am pretty spent. Its amazing how much my stamina and skill have improved in the 6 or 7 weeks since I started riding on a regular basis.

Post here about your riding activities, be it mountain biking, BMX, road biking, cruisers ect.

Good thread idea, Care.

I'm a MTBer and have a 2010 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Elite. Love this bike especially since my previous bike was a hardtail. But that was good to learn on. So many places with different types of terrain to test my skills and improve them in the Bay area. Also makes it great as a cross training sport for my other activities.

81UmUAFBwRL._SL1500_.jpg

i use this for trails and on road but as most of my riding seems to be on the road im looking specifcaly for a road bike.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/

^ Thats a great website for learning about road bikes.

If you know youre going to be riding a lot and you have the spare money I recommend not being afraid to spend on a road bike. If you get into it you'll be wishing you had a nicer bike really fast and wanting to upgrade. If you know what youre looking for then buying used can be a good option, but you'll lack the benefit of free maintenance that comes with a lot of local bike shops when you buy a bike, and the old parts may not be as solid as they once were. If youre riding on roads then road bikes are SOOOO MUCH MORE EFFECTIVE than mountainbikes, it really is night and day difference.

Nice mountain bike though.

@ Wyld