• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Methadone quit plan

sillygames

Greenlighter
I need a plan, to finally stop methadone, but I don't know where to start.

I've been using methadone for about 6 years this time. I'm currently on 17.5ml from a starting dose of about 80ml at the beginning. For the last couple of years though I've been on about 20/25ml so nothing too big.

I recently tried to stop at 20ml but that didn't work. I realise now that I need to get much lower.

Does anyone have any experience of stopping it successfully? How did you do it? I've tried many times over the years but always ended up going back because I can't handle the withdrawal. Maybe I haven't got low enough?

Any advice? TIA

I tried stopping methadone at 15mg and ended up on fentanyl so i went back to methadone.
I microdosed from methadone to suboxone from a higher dose then did a quick sub taper.
The bermese method is basically painless. When you get to the point you stop methadone you get very mild symptoms for a day or 2.

Or you could just decrease the methadone but go down to a very small dose(under 5mg)

Best of luck to you

Thanks for your reply.

What is the Bermese method? I can't get subs. I buy the methadone from a friend, I'm not prescribed.

I need a plan, to finally stop methadone, but I don't know where to start.

I've been using methadone for about 6 years this time. I'm currently on 17.5ml from a starting dose of about 80ml at the beginning. For the last couple of years though I've been on about 20/25ml so nothing too big.

I recently tried to stop at 20ml but that didn't work. I realise now that I need to get much lower.

Does anyone have any experience of stopping it successfully? How did you do it? I've tried many times over the years but always ended up going back because I can't handle the withdrawal. Maybe I haven't got low enough?

Any advice? TIA