• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Is natural tolerance a thing?

barelysane

Greenlighter
I'm a 19 year old female and I've been using heroin IV on and off for about two years. I used pills heavily for about four years before that, to the point of physical dependency. To be straight up for the most part I don't use heroin for more than a couple days a time because I didn't want to end up physically dependent or building up a tolerance. That being said, I feel like it takes me a lot more than it should to get high. I won't go into specific amounts but stuff that dealers have told me to "be careful with" I've continued to use in pretty decent sized amounts and haven't ODed or anything. I live in Boston and most of the stuff around here is pretty decent quality. I'm also a pretty average sized person like 5'7' and 140 pounds. I'm still able to get high it just takes a lot more than it seems like it should for someone trying to keep my tolerance low. I figure I just naturally have a pretty high tolerance, but I know that attitude could be dangerous if I end up taking too much of something stronger than expected.

In answer specifically to your question, everyone has different levels of tolerance to drugs, yes.

You say you don't use heroin for more than a couple days at a time, but you don't say how often you do that. I suspect you my have developed a fair bit of tolerance.

But regardless, you would expect some people to be outliers in terms of what they get from an equivalent dose. Still be careful though, especially with the fent issue cropping up so often.