I can't do this anymore but I can't stop...methadone?

mrs_mia_wallace

Bluelighter
I've been using heroin for the second time for about six months. I am totally mentally and physically addicted to it, if I don't use every six hours I'm dying for a hit and naeseous, exhauasted, shaking, etc.

The first time I quit I did it cold turkey in a super expensive rehab program... but I can't do that right now. When I quit I was in a totally different place, I was broke, just dumped by my abusive boyfriend, had no job no family and I was really wanting to get clean. I felt like I had completely fucked up my life and didn't trust myself to make my own decisions.

I want to quit now not because my life is a mess but because I dont want it to become one. I dont know if I'm going to keep making the money I am now forever and heroin is starting to fuck with my work. And I don't want to be a junkie, I want to be free and not be dependent on this drug just to be normal.

So my dilema is.. how do I go through the horrible process of getting off of it without the drive I had before. My friend that I use with told me I should
do methadone because I won't have to go through WDs and I'll still be on some kind of an opiate. I didn't do suboxone or methadone last time because my therapist was against it so I really don't know anything about it. I really don't want to be in a program I have to go to everyday or get drug tested all the time.

I want to figure out what I want to do by Monday so any advice is appreciated. I'm going back to school in a few weeks and I don't want to be nodding off in class or waiting in a bathroom stall for people to leave so I can get high or missing class because I'm sick. And I really don't want to start this new year off just using everyday.