Carrying a GUN

psychetool

Bluelighter
After a few of my friends have been jacked recently (houses broken into) and I have been thinking about purchasing a gun for protection.

I had a few questions though, say someone is breaking an entering to steal your personal property (drugs, stereo equipment, ect) is it legal to put a few slugs in him as long as your not ATTEMPTING to kill him ? Or would you have to wait until he made some kind of threatening motions towards you until you could open fire ?

If this belongs in Legal Q & A i'm sorry.

Well, this does belong in Legal Q&A because it's a legal question and not a drug question....

I'm guessing that you can't just shoot anybody that walks into your house, they need to pose a threat on your life before you start your shooting... so if someone walks into your house with no weapon and you shoot them, I'd think you'd go to jail as well... but then again, I'm not a lawyer and I'm just assuming, so ask in Legal chat..

Sure but this was in reference to getting drugs jacked. Move it if you please, I thought it might get a little more exposure here. If anyone was in my house stealing from me (armed or not) I would shoot him a few times and call the police.

A major problem with this scenario is getting rid of the drug evidence, it might look a bit shady to the neighbors if right after they hear a few gunshots they see a guy running down the street with a little box to throw away in the dumpster.

Yeah, I don't carry a peice, but it seems like it could be a lifesaver.

You're in Oregon, right? One of my neighbors a few years back shot a burgalar breaking into his apartment. He didn't get in trouble for that incident, but he did a bunch of other tweaker shit and got his ass arrested (hit & run, dui) a few months later. Last I heard it was legal to shoot somebody who breaks and enters into your home. I'm not sure if this is federal mandate or state law. Can anyone else help shed light on this?