• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Careers that are compatible with marijuana use?

treezy z

Bluelighter
I'm looking to take the dive into a career. I'm 27 and don't earn much. I have money to get a certificate in something (not enough for college.)

Many states allow marijuana use with a card. Due to federal laws, however, an employer doesn't have to honor this.

I love to smoke weed. If there are no careers out there for weed smokers I would quit, it's not that important, but that would not be ideal.

If your looking for a job you can be blatantly fried on the job then I'd say none...
If your looking for one you can smoke on your off time then pretty much any!

Last edited:
Work in a kitchen. If you are lucky you will develop a passion for food if one does not already exist. Maybe you will be good at it maybe you won't be. It's hard work but as a chef I do my best work when I am stoned it puts me in the zone. Too bad I don't have the passion my co workers do because after doing it for years I am a bad ass in a kitchen on the line and just cooking in general following recipes and whatnot. It can be a great creative outlet I guess for some people. Like I said I cook to pay the bills. I don't hate it but it's not my passion. I smoke a whole lot of weed. Getting ready to go back to school man

Most careers in the States are going to have drug testing at one point or another, and likely at points later down the line (like, say, when you advance your career into a more sensitive position).

For the average, weed-smokin' Joe, I'd say the lowest hanging fruit would be a technical trade and/or something involving manual labor (construction, HVAC, electric). Again, though, don't be surprised at having to pass initial drug tests in order to get a decent job in the first place.