BULBERATOR QUESTIONS ANSWERED.

Noc_Turnal

Bluelighter
After reading with interest the thread a few posts below regarding the bulberator, the number of people interested in making their own, and the number of questions C_N is trying to answer, I felt inclined to say a few words myself, being the one who actually designed and made the thing. C_N and myself, like many of you, started out our bulb experiences with the hammer, nail and balloon. BAD IDEA! Not only do you lose most of your gas before you can jam the balloon on, the chance of freezing half your face off as you pierce the hole too much with the nail is very real, and very painful!!

A few people have commented that the device is an impressive piece of engineering, which is not far from the truth. I am actually studying to be an engineer, so any misconceptions that anyone can just knock together one are a bit far-fetched. I don't want to stop anyone from trying - on the contrary - it's just that some of the tools and principles I used wouldn't be things that not everyone has access or expertise in using. I originally planned to make just a cracker, and do single hits into a balloon which could then be sucked back by the person wanting the hit. But as I stood in front of all the gas fittings and valves and T pieces, I thought "Why not make the ultimate bulberator, that you can charge up with 10 or so hits, and then sit back and have hit after hit after hit without having to come out of bulb world just to crack another bulb?" And so the bulberator was born.