• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Attention All Heroin Users!!!

esoralzil

Greenlighter
I've been using heroin for over 15 years lately I've been getting lesions and swollen marks where I've used. I always use new needles and I know I didn't miss I think it's something that is in the heroin is this happening to anybody else and is there anyway to fix it or counteract it

I've been using heroin for over 15 years lately I've been getting lesions and swollen marks where I've used. I always use new needles and I know I didn't miss I think it's something that is in the heroin is this happening to anybody else and is there anyway to fix it or counteract it
I believe Xylazine is known to cause lesions at injection and that has been showing up more and more in North American dope. I call it dope cause in America it's not heroin anymore.

I believe Xylazine is known to cause lesions at injection and that has been showing up more and more in North American dope. I call it dope cause in America it's not heroin anymore.
Could be baking soda, baby laxative, Fent, xylezine... no way to know. I’d invest in fent test strips, marquis reagents etc

Where are you from? If you are in the US, it may be possible that there is xylazine in your heroin. However, if you are in the US it is also possible that there is very little heroin in your heroin, and other opioids (e.g. fentanyl) alongside xylazine are present as adulterants.

Xylazine is known to be deeply embedded in the US opioid market (mainly in fentanyl, but sometimes in heroin too). Friedman et al. 2021
Xylazine is known to cause skin ulcers and lesions upon injection. Is it possible that your symptoms match with these (I imagine in a lesser manner)? Malayala et al. 2022