• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Valium - HELP

ghostworld1990

Greenlighter
Hello,

I am relatively new to this, so I'm sorry if I'm posting in the wrong thread or something! My friend has been taking Valium for around 18 months, some weeks 10mg, some weeks 100mg.

For the first six months, very sporadic and relatively infrequent usage for anxiety, could go several weeks without it and so on. Then a year ago he developed PTSD and began to use it for his overwhelming symptoms.

He wants to know if there's going to be any long-term health problems from this varying dosage for this period of time, and if stopping now will cause any bad withdrawal effects - and what would be the best way of coming off the Valium to avoid any such effects?

To demonstrate his recent usage it has been 485mg in 36 days, is this enough to cause problems? No 'daily' dosage, some days 10mg, some days 30mg, some days none. None of his medical practitioners (GP, therapist) are aware of his Valium usage and he does not want to tell them.

Where can he go from here? He is very frightened he is got himself into a bad situation - has he? Please help.

Thank you.

If on the days without any diazepam there are no withdrawal symptoms, especially on consecutive days of no dosing, then your friend should be in the clear.

As to health problems associated with this dosing pattern, there is really nothing to be concerned about.

Thank you. So do you think he's safe to quit? Or should he taper off? In the past year he's never gone more than seven days without having something, but in 2015 the use has been much higher, averaging around 100mg a week max. Is he safe? He's very worried about these horror stories about seizures :(

Last edited: