• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Switch Methadone to Subutex (buprenorphine)

Blackout1513

Greenlighter
I am new to the bluelight community so if I post in the wrong part sorry in advance! I have been on MMT for 2 months now. I have worked my way up to 70mg now. I love methadone but I have been suffering serious side effects such as chronic constipation, absolutely no sex drive, and appetite problems. Now my counselor suggested I make the switch to subutex. I have done subutex twice in my life (snorted half an 8mg) and it blew my head off! So my question is if I switch to subutex from meth after I taper to 30mg will I still feel the "high" I got when I tried it? And is the constipation as bad as the methadone? And what should I expect when I make the switch?

You have to wait a while to switch from methadone to buprenorphine. Your doctor probably won't do anything brash but if you're doing this yourself, wait until you are deep in the throes of withdrawal before you take the subutex, and then dose small amounts at a time. If you don't wait long enough or take too much at once (or any combination of both), you'll be in a world of hurt for a while due to precipitated withdrawal. Methadone has serious legs, so I'm talking like 2-3 days at least of no methadone before you can safely take subs, if I'm not mistaken.