• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Smoking Black Tar Basics

O1s480

Greenlighter
So I recently started smoking black tar and I'm very curious on the techniques I constantly read in the forums here.... I'm new to this so of course I do the tin foil and star method. But I don't get this whole "chasing the dragon" thing every keeps saying you have to do in order to get high.

I kept trying it at first and I'd get little to no hits and it would take forever to get high. And it seemed to waste a lot from smoke being all over.... What I've done lately is take a small peice, about the size of a match head, and slowy creep the lighter towards the foil until the tar starts to smoke. Then just keep creeping it closer and closer. Eventually I'm torching the foil, which everyone says not to do, until I get the very last bit out of it as I can. Since the tar sits in one little spot I don't seem to miss any smoke and get pretty large hits.

So my question is why people say it's a must to chase the dragon? Am I actually not getting as much out of it as I can? What I don't get is that tar isn't combustable or flamable, it's a solid/liquid that's heated to an oil and then eventually a gas which you inhale... Is it really that essential to smoke it in such a ridiculous way to chase it at an angle? I really don't see a reasoning for any of that unless I'm missing something. I also don't get why people can't use meth pipes to heat it and just twist the bowl. Only thing I would hate is trying to clean up all the ash/coal that would build up from putting it in a pipe.