• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Methadone insomnia?

LikeADaVinci

Bluelighter
Hi

I’ve been reading that insomnia is a commonly occurring side effect with methadone…

I’m new to methadone and am not experiencing this now, quite the opposite it seems to help me sleep…

I’m wondering: is this something that tends to happen after you’ve been on it a while? Does this effect creep up on you?

Thanks

I didn't happen to me while on methadone maintenance, but it does occur when I've randomly taken it as a recreational drug (when taken without a tolerance).

The insomnia isn't a total insomnia, just a sort of restless, very light sleep, feeling very itchy etc. Same thing happens to be me if I were to take a bunch of morphine or oxycodone before bed.

But once fully dependent on these opioids I've found that this pseudo-insomnia disappears.

Unfortunately with methadone maintenance I found a different form of insomnia would occur, not actually insomnia but rather waking up too early due to onset of mild withdrawal symptoms. And this happened despite being maintained at a massive 380mg a day (240mg in the morning 140mg in the afternoon). Yet each morning I woke up cold, in mild withdrawal, earlier than I would have preferred, and would eat my 24 10mg tablets and just sit in a chair for and hour and half until I started to "warm up" again.

Hi

I’ve been reading that insomnia is a commonly occurring side effect with methadone…

I’m new to methadone and am not experiencing this now, quite the opposite it seems to help me sleep…

I’m wondering: is this something that tends to happen after you’ve been on it a while? Does this effect creep up on you?

Thanks