• Welcome Guest

Forum Guidelines Bluelight Rules
    Fun 💃 Threads Overdosed? Click
    D R U G   C U L T U R E

IV drug user needs blood draw from Dr but has no veins?

temporaryforever

Greenlighter
I have been using opiates via IV for several years now...at first, I used only my right antecubital for quite a long time until it finally collapsed last year and since then, I have been using my wrists and the backs of my hands (some might say this is dangerous but I don't know where else to hit) so my hands are "swollen" in some places that I have used recently, and scarred with lines of track marks of various ages, from 6 months ago, to as recently as today. Long story longest, I have Grave's disease and I'm supposed to have regular blood draws to monitor my thyroid levels because I no longer have a thyroid and am on synthetic hormone...however, my doctor knows I have a history of IV drug use and I am afraid to get my blood drawn because I have no left antecubital vein, there's just nothing at all there...and the one on the right is long gone, and my hands are in a state that makes it quite obvious that I've recently been using and the last thing I need is my doctor finding out I'm still actively using. But I am have been starting to feel "off" lately and I've had Grave's for half my life and usually when I feel off like I do now, it has to do with my thyroid levels so I really need to get my thyroid levels tested via a blood draw, but I am worried about my doctor finding out from the tech that I am using again because of the state of my hands...what should I do? Is there anything I CAN do? Any ideas or possible options would be greatly appreciated because I usually get my levels tested at the MOST, every 6 months and it's now been years and I really need to get it done somehow, without drawing suspicion. :( Thanks for reading!