I just got cautioned for shoplifting. Now what happens?

Tialis

Bluelighter
I told the police woman who was booking me in that I'm a student (and gave the name of the university).

I didn't get a criminal record, but did get a formal police caution. Does this mean my university may find out? Can they expell me for this caution?

Will this caution hold me back in any way in the future? Will it stop me from taking holidays or living in America? Will it affect any of my career prospects (I still don't know what I want to do for sure)?

I am assuming that you are not from the US but here a citation is like a traffic ticket and will not come up on a standard background check.
You should be ok.

What if I eventually decide I want to be a policeman?! Will it ever be completely wiped off the police's records?

you might wawnt to be a pig? Are you a fucking troll or are you being serious...

Tialis said:
What if I eventually decide I want to be a policeman?! Will it ever be completely wiped off the police's records?

Some policemen have much worse things than a shoplifting caution on their records; don't sweat it.

Tialis said:

Nope, you're screwed. You shouldn't try to become a cop, because you won't be able to. No donuts for you.

Yes, you can still become a policeman if you have a shoplifting charge on your record. However, if you have ever been a regular drug user, you can forget about it.

http://www.thesite.org/homelawandmoney/askthesiteqandas/legalandrightsqandas/concealingacaution

Question

I was a bit of an idiot and ended up with a formal adult caution after a run-in with the police. Will employers be able to check for this?

Answer