• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Getting off fentadope with methadone, advice needed please.

Jmoneymillz740

Greenlighter
Hey everyone, hope y’all had a good thanksgiving!!

So I’ll get right to it. I’ve been abusing opiates for 6-7 years, with stretches of clean time In Between. The last two years or so being IV heroin/fentanyl when I am using. I felt like this last stretch of 5-6 months clean was going to be the last time but I relapsed again. Ive been using iv fentadope (presumably all fent) for 3-4 months or so, getting up to and sometimes over a gram a day. After many failed attempts at getting on suboxone to soften the withdrawal ending in PW no matter how long I waited, I just went to a methadone clinic yesterday. I know I should’ve asked the dr this but I was rattling pretty hard and just wanted to get dosed. I would greatly appreciate some input on a few things.

1: Is it possible to dose for a few days at 30mg and then come off without being terribly sick?
2: What is the best path to being completely opiate free?
3: Is it possible to taper off of methadone painlessly? Or with little discomfort?

I would really just like to hear some of your experiences and any advice pertaining to how to get off of everything as quick as possible is greatly appreciated. Cold turkey is not an option for me at this point because of my job.
Thanks for reading yall.

Yeah dude. You will probably need more than just a few days. Takes a few days to build up, but 30mg will hold you to the level you are at least functional. You are going to have to learn to deal with some sickness if you have hope at being clean.

Give it a week or so, then start to come down. 5mg a week or so.