• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

EXPERIMENT: slow steady long-duration nasal Ritalin administration

Will miss Tram :(

Bluelighter
EXPERIMENT: time/dose controlled release of drugs via nasal/rectal routes

THE REASON BEHIND THE EXPERIMENT:

I'm a medical student who suffer from severe adult ADHD-inattentive type,

I need to be on meds to be able to study.
I have to study between 10-12 hrs daily to pass exams.

In my country ordering meds from online pharmacies is forbidden by customs, even with a legit national prescription.

The only available ADHD med in our country is Ritalin (immediate release), which is not compatible with my needs, since it gives short durations of overpowered stimulation,
while I need mild effects but long durations.

And no, Ritalin SR or Concerta or Adderall is not available.
The one and only med in entire country = simple immediate release Ritalin 10mg pills.

=========================
THE THEORY:

1. Dissolving 60mg of Ritalin pills in water,
2. Pouring the solution into an empty IV bottle,
3. Attaching a drip chamber,
5. Connecting the end tail of tube to a two-way nasal catheter,
6. Attaching cotton balls or nasal tampons to two ends of nasal catheter,
7. Inserting into nose,
8. Adjusting the drip flow to suit nasal absorption rate, to avoid runny nose.

The fluid inside the tube soaks the tampon/cotton and gets absorbed by the nasal mucous membrane.

I just wear the setup at home, and begin studying, while receiving 10 hours of constant steady levels of the med, no rush no crash anymore.

===================
THE BENEFITS:
The bioavailability of oral methylphenidate is about 30% while it is up to 95% via nasal route.