• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Does using while tapering ruin the whole taper?

angelomorgano

Bluelighter
Hi.

I have been using opiods for 3 months every day now so I am dependent on them. Started with oxycodone IR (at 40-60mg), then the dealer was out, he gave me oxycodone extended release, but I didn't like that at all, so he gave me pure 10mg/ml morphine ampules. I don't inject so I plug them, about 50mg (5ml) at a time. I noticed that morphine really triggers my breathing, it starts squeeking and I need to use an inhaler. Switched plugging heroin,which affects my breathing a little less but noticably more than oxy.

I decided to quit after new year by tapering for a few weeks, I started with methadone 10mg per day, but I noticed my heart rate dropped. I found reports of sinus bradycardia, so I quit that and switched back to heroin for a few days and yesterday I started suboxone 3mg, today 2mg.

I want to use during christmas and new year. Does this ruin a week long taper with suboxone? Is it better to just use heroin instead, maybe at a low dose?

Ok, so it is fine to:
tapering with suboxone,
then quitting suboxone 2 days before christmas
and then use heroin for a few days,
then switch back to suboxone in januari

I am not on maintenance

Yes, it ruins the taper. You wouldn't be tapering more, you'd be back to square one. And also, it likely wouldn't be worth it with subs in your system, as has already been said.

Okay, as an update:
I took subs every day as follows:
2mg, 1.5mg, 3mg, 3mg, 3mg, 1mg, then the next day I switched back to heroin for 2 days, it worked perfectly and quite strong, as if my tolerence had already dropped.