• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Harm Reduction Dilaudid injection faux pas? Plz help

temporaryforever

Greenlighter
I have been using dilaudid via IV for several years and I have been running out of usable veins and recently (within the last week) have been injecting into the back of my hand, but last night I injected into the back of my left hand for the second time, into the vein that runs into the side of your wrist. The first time went perfectly but the second time, the needle went a little deeper but I still got the flash, so I proceeded. Something very bizarre happened and I am hoping someone can shed some light on what the actual f happened! I reacted quickly and took pictures so I will post those...so what happened is, as I injected the solution I felt a light tingling in my fingers but nothing serious, but by the time all the solution was in, my hand was on FIRE itching and stuff, then it immediately turned red and splotchy and my fingers were very tingly...as you will see in one of the pictures. after the red splotches disappeared after like a minute or so, big white patches of swelling appeared, as if I had missed and injected into the tissue, but I know I didn't miss because I got high, and the white swollen parts were all over my hand, down to my fingertips, and not in the area where I injected, So can anyone tell me what the hell happened?! Thanks guys.

PS. My hand went completely back to normal within ten minutes and I have no lasting effects from this, thank goodness,

Yikes. That must have been scary. I have never shot up but bear with me here. The fact that you got high means SOME of the solution went into your vein. I get that.