Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

Addicted to Rikodeine, how to stop?

mandapanda468

Greenlighter
Hi all, sorry if this is a long post :(

I have found myself really addicted to Rikodeine cough syrup. I've been drinking a bottle of it a day for the past two months and I can't seem to stop :( This sounds odd, but I don't really even mind the stomach side effects as I have been wanting to lose weight and it really keeps me from eating anything all day long until dinner and has helped me drop a few KG. I also just like the calm effect it has on me, but I am spending so much money on it, over 20 dollars a day and sometimes I have to go to a few different chemists a day as I get recognised. I have hidden this from my husband as well, I am so ashamed of it :( I tried quitting cold turkey and I got so sick I had to go and get a bottle to make myself feel better. I want this to stop though :( Should I go to a doctor? Or try to taper off? Could anyone with any experience help me with this one? Thanks to anyone who can offer help and advice I really appreciate it!

That's codeine right? how many mg per day are you taking?
It's a fake type of Codeine, Dihydrocodeine tartrate still available over the counter out here so don't need a script. I am drinking a whole bottle of Rikodeine a day which equates to about 400 mg of fake Codeine, I have become so used to it that it barely gives me a high anymore :(

Looks like that's equivalent to about 800mg of regular codeine, I would definitely do a taper but some prefer the cold turkey route, doctors have told me cold turkey or any intense withdrawal is hard on the nervous system and I agree, I even go as far as thinking intense withdrawal can create a type of ptsd. Anyways I would say drop 25-50mg every 1 or 2 weeks and speed up or slow down as needed good luck

Last edited:
Just stop taking it.u can't be that addicted to it after two months.