Addicted to manic phases

†∆†

Bluelighter
Hello-

This is my first time on TDS, it seems as though this part of Bluelight is most appropriate for what for my post is going to be about. I hope I'm right in categorizing it this way, if not, my apologies.

A little context-

I was diagnosed as bipolar a little over two years ago, and have been on many different medications and combinations of medications, including Trileptal, Lamictal, Lithium, Gabapentin, and SSRI's. After many failures, my psychiatrist and I finally found a combo that made me feel "stable," not too up not too down, I suppose. This combination was Lamictal, Lithium, and Neurontin.

As horrible as being untreated was, I still really miss the excitement I'd experienced in my manic phases even though I know full well the problems associated with it. As a result, I started using excessive amounts of dexedrine, adderall, ritalin, and ultimately cocaine to restore myself to that phase that I misse so dearly, not even taking into account the fact that I will inevitably crash and fall into the same cycling I was in before.

The other day I decided that I was going to go off all medication and drugs temporarily-I wanted to see how crazy I really am, having not been completely unmedicated for years. I want to know what my unadulterated, bipolar self has been doing while these medications and drugs have been covering it up. I've just skipped my first dose of medications, and was wondering what all of y'all's take on this is. I can't deal with being stabalized, but my bipolar self is a little much to handle. Should I just stay on my pills and accept that I won't have certain feelings anymore?

Thanks

If you read any literature on bipolar,it would tell you that bipolar people constantly go off their meds.I'm diagnosed bipolar and haven't found any combo that works good for me.I'm mostly down and antisocial.Mania is much more fun but I'm afraid of the stupid things I do.