The "Thousand Mile Stare" from long-term steroid use?

Stargazer

Bluelight Crew
My ex-husband/my daughter's father is a competitive body builder. He's taken steroids pretty much all of his adult life.

I didn't understand that steriods give you energy...he was always ready to go out and do something, he only required abou tfour hours of sleep, , when I was exhausted from work,and being a mom. When it finally ended...one summer, he stopped coming home. He got huge...his legs looked liked a Shetland pony's...huge, veiny quads...when he fanned them out, they looked gross. Which is exactly what body-builders love hearing...not unlike anorexics that love to hear they are way too thin. I have some experience w that...I loved hearing everyone telling me how thin or too thin I was...I'm pretty much over that...I still have a distorted body image. But, us woman have so much pressure to look perfect...it's terrible.

He has stopped taking steroids. He's a total wreck.He's still in peak condition. But naturally. But something is terribly wrong w him. I never thought the day would come that I"d ever feel bad for the guy..he put me through hell. It took me five years to get over the divorce. It was devestating for me...he was really really a jerk...didn't help w his daughter. Left us struggling. I"m surprised I feel bad for him. The only thing I have ever wanted if for him to be treated w the same amount of kindness he showed me and our daughter. None.