• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Subtext precipitated wds

Damoxy

Greenlighter
I'm new to this but would like to know will I get precipitated wds if I take tramadol before subs. Can't find the answer. I'm on 120 mg of oxy and want to do a short sub taper. I just need to know whether tramadol will cause prec. Wds

Nope, tramadol before buprenorphine will not cause precipitated withdrawal. Tramadol won't be an issue, although oxycodone will. Wait 12-24hrs minimum after last dose of oxycodone before taking any buprenorphine/Suboxone/Subutex.

Thanks. Yes I know to wait after oxy. Do. You know if the same applies to immodium? Thanks alot for replying

Buprenorphine/Suboxone/Subutex does not cause precipitated withdrawal if taken after loperamide/Immodium either.

Good luck!

Just to jump in real fast, I'd wait a bit longer for oxy before taking subs. For H 12-24 works for most people (though I'd go closer to 24 than 12) but oxy I'd go 24 hours since last dose at the minimum. My rule of thumb is wait until the w/d has you squirming, and that is the right time to take your subs.

Edit: But to concur with others, Tramadol does not seem to interact with buprenorphine in regards to precip. w/d's and I've confirmed that in my own "laboratory". You can take your trams as you wish prior to taking your subs.

Last edited:
If this is your first time getting on the suboxone you should wait until you feel mild to moderate withdrawal before you even think about taking any.

But if you are already stable on suboxone you do not have to wait for 12-24 hours, I've gotten away with -6 hours before and was perfectly fine.

-Stay safe