• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Recommendations for anxiety med

Boolo32

Greenlighter
USA:Newbie here: also new to anxiety, however have many pain issues so decently high tolerance. My doctor has given me Valium in the past, it seemed to have the opposite effect on me as far as it kept me up alllll night. He just prescribed me Xanax .05mg, I don’t feel anything from it, no relief to anxiety, nothing, except a few yawns. I’m about to face a really hard weekend with 3 sick kids, myself getting sick, and my husband out of town until Sunday night. Any recommendations on an anxiety med? I’d like to see if he can switch me today before the weekend and he’s closed. My neighbor takes clonazepan(klonipin) and it works for her but she hardly ever takes any medication, even over the counter. Do you think my tolerance is affecting how these anxiety meds are working in me? Help, I HATE anxiety, typing this gives me anxiety, but I know I’m facing a triggering weekend alone so I need to figure this out. I’d go see my doctor today, but again my kids are sick and he’s an hour drive from me, so I’m stuck. Please help with any advice, personal stories, etc.. thank you

Last edited:
Personally I find benzos help IN THE MOMENT of an anxiety attack, but daily use of cannabis and occasionally kratom are 2 natural methods I use.

A lot of people would suggest CBT and stuff like that, but I work in mental health and suffer from CPTSD as well, so I've got a different perspective and won't bombard you with coping mechanism suggestions.