• Psychedelic Drugs Welcome Guest
    View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

I'm uncertain if psychedelics would improve my life or not. Advice?

Shimmerchasm

Greenlighter
Hello!
I am new to BlueLight and to psychedelics but I have done a good amount of research. I'm interested in the therapeutic effects of psychedelics, particularly mushrooms. I'm sort of on a journey right now, trying to figure my life out and let go of destructive thought and behavior patterns. I've recently become more spiritual and I've begun meditating. I would like psychedelics to be part of my journey but I'm not sure if I'm a good candidate because of my past. I'm also confused about something... it is said that certain psychedelics can alleviate depression and anxiety and help people who have had traumatizing experiences, but it's also said that a mentally unstable person should not do psychedelics. That makes no sense to me. Is it only certain specific mental disorders that psychedelics effect? How does it effect clinical depression or anxiety disorder vs bipolar or a personality disorder?

I was clinically depressed as a teenager and I had really bad social anxiety. I've lived through some traumatizing experiences (mostly verbal and emotional abuse from my mother and a man she dated for a long time who was extremely manipulative and probably psychotic). I suspect my mother has a personality disorder and maaaaybe bipolar but I'm not sure. I generally come from a very dysfunctional family and I've cut most of them off, and that's a bit lonely. I still have to deal with some stress from my parents though. EVERYONE in my family is an addict of some sort but I seem to be able to take or leave anything, though tbh I've never even smoked a cigarette. The most I do is have a glass of wine with dinner.