• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Heroin for pain relief, bad idea?

RiseAgain

Bluelighter
I've been using opiates for over 2 years for pain relief and recreational use. I've never had a prescription for them and it's not an option for me atm.

I've been using codeine, oxy and poppy tea at different times. I've never become hooked and I've always been pretty much in control. My number 1 rule is if I need to increase my dose beyond a certain point it's time to stop. I take breaks frequently but I always need to take them again for my pain. There has been a few times when I've used for a few too many days (or weeks) in a row when the pain is really bad and have gone into WDs, the absolute worst is the poppy tea.

The thing is though, I never become addicted. I have an extreme aversion to downers and even though I like the effects of opiates I cannot stand to be on them all the time. When I overdo it and start to become sick it sucks but it doesn't make me want to take more, it makes me want to take a break. I seriously don't even get cravings when withdrawing, it just makes me feel a bit like, oh shit, not again and I'd rather wait for it to end than continue using and make it worse.