• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Cannabis for chemotherapy

pozlotus

Greenlighter
Greetings;

This January, 31st, I got the diagnosis of squamous cell carcinoma, which is a recurrence. Since it's a recurrence, we've decided to treat it aggressively.

On March 13th, I will begin chemo and radiation. Each round of treatment will be 5-6 weeks.

I have always heard that cannabis is good for nausea associated with chemoradiation therapy. I also happen to love it. It's been helpful in many ways all my adult life.

Are there other users on bluelight who have had this experience? Even better are there any users who are in the field of oncology?

Reply here or in private, whichever is best for you.

Peace-
pozlotus

Not personally but I know people who used it for same reason and/or in belief it’s beneficial for cancer patients in more than only preventing nausea and at least it didn’t cause harm and at best it really helped a lot.

i have no experience in this field, i have heard it is useful for treating nausea for chemo , my only personal experience with cannabis and nausea is that i suffer with chronic long term migraines and vaping cannabis instantly ends the nausea for me

I have a friend who was struggling in a big way with chemo who found that cannabis edibles completely stopped her nausea...only whan eaten for her
though (smoking or vaping didn't help) and it took her a while to find her optimal dose

All the best mate

Tommy Chong used his own version of RSO up the ol rectum for prostate cancer
Swears it cured it

Not exactly your question/problem but another testimony ...

Some early evidence that THC can actually shrink cancer cells. I sure wouldn't depend on that, but it does treat the side effects of chemo well. So why not use it instead of other anti-nausea meds?

It's not only nausea, it's lack of appetite (related, I guess) which is a killer.