• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Best benzo or non-benzo for insomnia??

InsomniacMike

Bluelighter
Being a busy college student, I need a sleeping pill that they can take at night, be put to sleep, and wake up in the morning with no residual drowsiness or feeling like they only had a few hours of sleep. keep in mind that I also take ADHD medication so that could be factoring into their insomnia issues.

I've tried clonidine, trazodone, ambien, lunesta, xanax (only 1mg), sonata, ativan 1-2mg, remeron, rozerem, seroquel.

all have there pros and cons. For example, I ate regularly before going to bed so the z-drugs were not an option for them (since food inhibits absorption of zolpidem, zaleplon, etc.) Remeron and seroquel leave me unfocused the next day and minimally productive. 10-20 mg of zolpidem or zaleplon works well for SWIM but not being able to eat before taking the medication turns me off.

What drug could I look into that fits their needs? I has heard halcion is very good but doesnt know if it is still even prescribed or produced in the US. I wonder if higher doses of xanax or ativan would sedate me enough to put them to sleep :? 8) Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Shame barbs are basically impossible to come by now, as Seconal would be ideal... I'd say Temazepam (Restoril)