View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Advice for using Datura and similar plants

just say know

Bluelighter
I've never used Datura; but what is some good advice for someone interested in using Datura or similar plants?

personally i'm interested in Datura but have no experience with it and i have limited knowlege of the experience, dosage, or uses. currently i'm researching Datura Experiences.

personally my friend is interested in it because he says it's like "super benedryl"; which he's big into deleriants like benedryl. we're considering taking a datura trip together one day. what advice would you give to a person considering using this plant? what kind of set or setting is ideal? Are there any ways to reduce negative side effects like dry mouth and such? and what are some good stuff to mix with it; will weed potentiate?

from a previous thread on this

sekio said:
The problem with belladonna and datura is that depending on many variables (soil quality, nitrogen content, sunlight exposure, temperature, physical stress, age of plant, particular strain/genetics, presence of pathogens, differing soil bacteria, etc) the alkaloid content can vary widely.

If you want an anticholinergic to potentiate psychedelics, see about getting scopolamine, hyoscamine, atropine or some other pure isolated refined alkaloid in a measured dosage form. Or use diphenhydramine if you can't get any of the others. Using plant material (seeds, leaves, juices) without having a method to quantitate the alkaloid content (GCMS or LCMS) or even a milligram balance and a lab set to extract and purify the alkaloids and see how much you got, is reckless and you have to do careful dose titration and "lot control". Every time you gather new seeds or whatever they need to be titrated again. Gathering from multiple plants is a no-no too.