The Americas
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • NSADD Moderators: deficiT | Jen

Mephedrone Legal Status (Canada)

qnibb

Bluelighter
I'm not an expert in law so I'm having a difficult time trying to find a reputable source that clearly states Mephedrone is not illegal to buy/possess. Can anybody confirm and maybe cite some legal jargon that there's nothing illegal about buying/holding Mephedrone in Canada? I think a thread like this should be made sticky and constantly updated with any changes in law, that way nobody gets burned thinking its legal.

Every site Google brings up states that mephedrone is legal in Canada. Couldn't find anything official to state that it definitely is legal, but the fact that there's nothing to suggest that it isn't legal and loads of sources that state that it is suggests to me that you shouldn't have any concern buying or possessing it there.

*snip*

You've been here plenty long enough to know sourcing is not allowed :\

Last edited by a moderator:
Every site Google brings up states that mephedrone is legal in Canada. Couldn't find anything official to state that it definitely is legal, but the fact that there's nothing to suggest that it isn't legal and loads of sources that state that it is suggests to me that you shouldn't have any concern buying or possessing it there.

What confuses me is that there are a few sources such as Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mephedrone) that claim Mephedrone is illegal in the US under the "anologue law". In Canada we have a Controlled Drugs and Substances Act as well, and I believe there is also some type of "anologue law" covered in the act. So I don't know, I almost feel like contacting a lawyer to get a professional opinion. Maybe I'm just being paranoid.

For the record, I don't possess any amount of this substance.