• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Reversal of Benzos Tolerance (??)

Charles Ferdinand

Bluelighter
Hi! Long time reader and visitor. Finally decided to participate.
I've been reading my dad's medicine books (both surgeons) and using benzos for anxiety (2 years now: Alprazolam my favorite one)
I'm a noob, so I'm just gonna say it (and using simple words so everyone can post their opinions):
We well know benzo tolerance is (in part at least) caused by the negative feedback system, that is: benzos make your neurons more sensitive to GABA (the inhibitory neurotransmitter of the brain), so your brain gets ultrasensitive to GABA and adapts to the new situation.
So wouldn't it be logical just to "train" it to get the way it was by using a "desensitizer". Yes: Flumanezil, benzo's antidote. First tappering off slowly to get rid of the addiction and then reversing the changes with the Flumanezil. It could be dangerous and nasty I know.
I was just thinking about it and decided to post it to see what you guys think, and (quite) possibly correct me.

Ohh and my intro (please read it so you can get to know me better!):
http://www.bluelight.ru/vb/showthread.php?p=7087113#post7087113

Regards!

Last edited:
Yes, there is evidence of upregulation and reduction of tolerance with flumazenil, but treatment is dangerous, and I am not sure you would achieve your desired result.

Personally, unless your anxiety is truly debilitating, I would gradually discontinue the benzodiazepines. It took over a year before I felt "normal" again after discontinuing benzos; the withdrawal was terrible.

Congrats!
IIRC, you had one hell of a tolerance.
Yes, I would avoid using a potentially lethal convulsant outside of medical supervision.

ebola

OP: No, it shouldn't - it's been discussed before :)

Benzos are not direct agonists. They are allosteric modulators. The mechanism is just different from that of flumazenil.