Australian & Asian
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

the shapelle corby televised judgement

CuPillar

Bluelighter
im watching the judgement (coz its interesting, and im a law student and they dont televise judgements in aust, so its good knowledge) and it seems that shapelles 'prior experiance with drugs' is a major point at the moment.

the justices keep refering that schapelle has no prior experiance with drugs...

why is this such a contentious point. i dont believe that her prior usage should play any role in this case.

it seems that the way they are speaking that if she did have prior useage of illicit substances, then teh outcome may be different, or the way they look at it...

i dont htink this is a fair way of looking at it...

discuss?

I don't think this whole process is about what's "fair". That said, I'm not watching this whole thing live because I heard it's gunna go on for about 4 hours. I'd prefer to read a transcript later once I know what the actual verdict is. A four hour speach before telling someone their fate is like those stupid reality TV shows that have a 3 minute pause before announcing a result. "The idol dream is over for....... (3 mins pass).... Shapelle". It's a fairly cruel way of doing it considering what's at stake.

I hope it's all dismissed and the poor girl is paid out for the hardships pressed against her... one holiday gone terribly wrong

Its not worth it... Her life is over... She'll miss out on so many things, she'll never have children or the opportunity to enjoy some of the best years of her life...

Why would you do it.... Yes, I believe she really is guilty... But I guess we will never know the truth

Corby gets 20 years
By staff writers and AAP
May 27, 2005
Advertisement:
SCHAPELLE Corby has been sentenced to 20 years in jail.

In a Bali court the judges said she was guilty of trying to smuggle 4.1kg of marijuana into Indonesia.