• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

What drug will hurt your ability to learn more?

Fried Man

Bluelighter
To start off, I take d-amphetamines for ADHD. I am a college student and use 10-40 mg everyday to study. The amphetamines (even 10 mg sometimes) keeps up at night, have trouble sleeping.

Right now I have three options at night for sleep. If I have trouble sleeping, I'll either take some diphenhydramine (50 mg) or smoke some weed. OR I'll try to sleep naturally, which often results in little/no sleep.

So I'm trying to think of which is worse for the day after, the weed, diphenhydramine, or 0-6 hours of sleep.

I know that all three can mess with the ability to RETAIN information one has learned the day before, and it can also mess with your ability to learn information the day after. I'm more interested in which drugs mess with your ability to RETAIN information.

I know that sleep is important for retaining information. I just feel that if I pull an all nighter and study and get little sleep, I feel that I can pump myself full of amps and get the job done. I feel a bit depressed/wired/edgy/weird/sluggish the next day, but in the short term, I can "get by" by doing this.

The next option is diphenhydramine. With 50 mg, I usually can fall asleep and get a nice 6-8 hours of sleep. Sometimes I feel groggy and very sluggish in the morning, even with some amphetamines. To counteract this, I usually need 10-15mg more amps. What I am wondering about is how much does diphenhydramine mess with your ability to retain information since it has big anti-cholegenic effects. From studying some psychology, I know that the drug can mess with your ability to learn, but is 50 mg enough to hurt me significantly?