• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

What do you do when you're young and clean?

efg

Greenlighter
I was an opioid addict (among other things) from 16-19, and then took various NMDA antagonists daily for the first ~6months or so upon quitting. I'm 23 now and just got past my fourth year of being clean. I'm back in school, about to graduate, have a publication in a neuroscience journal, posters at society for neuroscience meetings and I'm a straight A student now, with the intention of applying to PhD programs next year. I'm also working on 3 more manuscripts. So things are going well for me in that sense. But other than that, I still have no friends. My social life is the professors and staff I interact with. I go to an undergraduate-only institution so I'm a bit older than most people here, most people here do a good amount of drugs, and even if they didn't, I can't find myself relating to people who have never or hardly used anything. I still don't enjoy TV. I still don't enjoy video games. I lift 3-4x a week and do cardio on my off days and that helps, but there are times where I'm too busy to keep that schedule up and my mental health declines during that time. My mood elevates when I start exercising consistently again for a few weeks, but I recognize that throughout life, with what I want to do, I can't have my mental health be contingent on exercise. I enjoy my labwork as well, and don't do much outside the lab or gym. But I have 1 friend these days, who currently lives on a family farm (he is clean as well now) across the country from me (US). I can't seem to make new friends other than people I can speak to about lifting in the gym, and people I can speak to about labwork in the lab. I can't find an interesting hobby. I do see a therapist regularly, who does keep telling me, and I know it's true, that I'll run across more people who used to be drug addicts and then got clean as I get older (along with my peers).