• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Tramadol usage over prolonged period

octagon572

Greenlighter
I have been an occasional user of Tramadol since 2016 at low doses. Normally 100mg at a time, sometimes 150mg but never higher than 200mg.
I have been doing this since 2016 and have used Tramadol between 1 and 4 times a week. I have had weeks with no Tramadol. The average has been around 2-3 times a week.
I have never had to increase the dose, had the desire to increase the dose or increase the frequency of use. I use Tramadol mostly for working out and I find it greatly increases the experience and performance.
My question is, whether this is sustainable or healthy. I know at some point I must stop. I have had no problems stopping in the past but I find that I no longer enjoy working out as much without Tramadol. It also gives a huge performance boost and I really enjoy the feelings of being superhuman physically while taking it.
I don’t use any other drugs regularly. I don’t drink.

Due to the unique SSRI properties of Tramadol it isn't as simple an opioid as some. It is also synthetic. It can raise the seizure threshold for some, but it sounds like you are not dosing in that territory. Is this prescribed to you? I made the mistake of taking Oxy while working out and made my injuries even worse due to lack of pain. If you have had MRI and other tests done and know nothing is torn or what not it shouldn't be an issue. But why use an opioid over a pre-workout with BCAA and things your body needs? It sounds maintainable but also sounds silly. If you aren't in chronic pain I'd leave the Tramadol alone and find a better alternative for a workout supplement

As Future said, are you on a script?