• Drug Policy & Media Coverage Welcome Guest
    View threads about
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Drug Busts Megathread Video Megathread

The Speed You're Taking Is Probably Just Meth

poledriver

Bluelighter
The Speed You're Taking Is Probably Just Meth

"Luke, is it? Fucking let me tell you something, okay," the drug dealer said. We were inside his St Kilda boarding house. His eyes were getting bigger, pupils like two vibrating eggs. "I am a fucking pharmacist, do you understand me?"

But he wasn't. And chances are he had no idea what he was making. Chances are my drug dealer friend cooking up speed in his sad, tiny room knew much less than than Rebecca McKetin, an associate professor at the Australian National University's College of Medicine, Biology, and Environment. According to Dr McKetin, thanks to drug lingo, there are some widespread misconceptions about what speed actually is.

"If you were taking something you called 'speed' from about 1990 onward, you were actually taking powdered meth—not amphetamine sulphate," she explains. "Many people have being taking 'speed' for a long time, when they are taking methamphetamine without realising." Police know this because when they test the 'speed' they've seized from people, it's usually actually powdered meth.

As Dr McKetin explains to me, powdered methamphetamine, which is also called "speed" or "meth," is just one of three distinct illegal amphetamine formulas. There's also amphetamine sulphate, or "speed," which hasn't been on the Australian market since the 1960s. Then there's crystal methamphetamine, which is called "ice" but again, also "meth." Crystallised meth is made with the same base ingredients as powdered meth—usually ephedrine or pseudoephedrine—but is generally much stronger.