• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Successful Heroin Taper Method

southpawJ

Greenlighter
Disclaimer: This thread is about Burt, my pet rattlesnake's experience, in first person for the sake of cogency.

So I've been using and abusing opiates for over eight years now, I started with oxycontin, and have dabbled in everything except fent. At my worst, I was snorting about 300mg a day of the old OC's. Over the last year and a half, due to the crackdown on pills and their outrageous prices, I switched to heroin. I was snorting about a gram a day, combined with 4-6 mg of xanax. I would have been iv-ing, but I am very petite and my veins are tiny, so fortunately for me, I never had the luxury of using the needle unless someone else would do it for me. Due to my fiscal situation, and overall diminished quality if life, I had to quit. I've been through cold turkey withdrawal more times than I care to count, so I am no stranger to the rattle and bite of withdrawal.

My advice is based on what I've done over the past month. I successfully weened myself off of a gram a day habit (a year and a half of heroin usage, with some 30mg roxies every once and a while for good measure), to 2 bags a day or less (average dope- powder form, not fire but not garbage either), and then nothing, with almost no withdrawals. I thought it was impossible to do, but it is possible and for anyone who wants out of the cycle, I recommend the following...