• 🇳🇿 🇲🇲 🇯🇵 🇨🇳 🇦🇺 🇦🇶 🇮🇳
    Australian & Asian
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

Seeking people who have used newer synthetic drugs / legal highs for feature article

Tronica

Executive Director
Staff member
Hello Bluelighters

Yes I've done these call-outs before and we've had mixed experiences, but I think this is a good opportunity as Greg is writing a long piece and after a half hour chat with him, I got the impression that he really wants to get past the usual angles and focus on the wider implications of these trends for drug prohibition/regulation. Greg is based in Sydney.

Greg's request is as follows - please contact him if you are up for it.

"Hello,

I am a feature writer with The Weekend Australian Magazine. I am researching a 4000 to 5000 word piece for the magazine about newer synthetic drugs. I would like to speak to users about their experiences. There is a national debate raging at the moment about newer synthetic drugs but we've heard little from people who actually use them. I will guarantee your anonymity, if that's what you want. I would prefer to do the interviews face to face, but can do it over the phone. I can be contacted on 0437 914 721 or at [email protected]

Regards,

Greg Bearup"

He also provided an example of a drug related story he wrote, albeit published a while ago now, which is archived on Bluelight at http://www.bluelight.ru/vb/archive/index.php/t-2708.html - it includes a great quote from the cops about how ecstasy use has helped them with managing large events.

by greg bearup

at 4am at bondi on new year's day, dozens of bored police wandered past thousands of partygoers with smiles beaming from faces with dilated pupils. Love, it seemed, was in the air.

There was little for the police to do - not a single fight and only one arrest for a minor drink-driving charge.