• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Protein overdose or not enough?

deadendgame

Bluelighter
So I'm new to working out and I'm not sure exactly how much protein I should be taking in. I drank a 42 g protein shake immediately after my workout then another one 2 hours later. then a bit of shrimp and then another protein shake (20). then a footlong chicken sub then another protein shake (36) then another (20). I don't know if I took in too much or too little protein. I can definitely feel my muscles getting bigger. I figure if I take in too much, no harm, I'll just be a little fat. But if I take in too little, my muscles will atrophy. And I got to figure out how to supply my muscles with protein tomorrow. Am I worrying too much about my protein?

Sounds like you're relying too much on shakes and not enough on whole food. Don't neglect carbs and healthy fats either. Do a little dietary research, the info is out there. Shakes are fine but they should be an addition to an otherwise healthy protein rich diet, not the other way around.

As said above, I think you really need to crack onto some basic diet research. There are tons of free basic high-protein diet plans if you google. You can't really 'overdose' on protein, but try to get more from whole food sources (fish, chicken, lentils, beef etc), as well as lots of fruit, veggies, and good oils (nuts, avocado, fish oil etc).

i bought ten beef steaks. about to eat those tomorrow after my workout. will be tweaked out on preworkout supplements of course to maximize my workout

well, there is another reason. i have some appetite problems and have trouble digesting food. that's why i drink so many protein shakes. does it really matter where your protein comes from? protein is protein

well, there is another reason. i have some appetite problems and have trouble digesting food. that's why i drink so many protein shakes. does it really matter where your protein comes from? protein is protein