Prescription Regulation

justgettothepoint

Greenlighter
I am new to this message board and would like to start off my postings with the most important issue in my life right now....... prescription drug regulation.

I just want to throw the question out there.......

How many of you feel the federal government should impose tougher, stricter prescription drug regulations?

I think that the federal government should impose much tougher guidelines on schedule 1-5 drugs. I will wait to share my side of the argument until I see some responses to the issue.

Now I am not talking about the penalties for violating the various controlled substances acts, but the actual process for obtaining and filling prescriptions in the US.

Please share your opinions with me on here.

Thank You

The regs are so tight now, doctors are far too reluctant to prescribe them when they are really needed. They are all afraid of the DEA investigating them.

I left the ER one night with a fracture on the top of my foot. I can tolerate pain pretty well, but the crack in my foot separated with every step I took.
Soooo, what did I get for pain? 20 5mg lortabs. I chewed up 5 just to get home

The next giant wave of class action law suits will be over peoples livers being destroyed by taking excessive and completely unnecessary levels of Tylenol with their pain meds.

^ I would genuinely like to see that happen. APAP is the government's prescription-drug version of Paraquat.

Not sure what you mean by "tougher guidelines." I think a better approach is simply to give doctors better access to a patient's prescription history. We spend a lot of money educating and training doctors. I'd like to give them better tools to use that education and training to resolve substance abuse problems in their patients without the need for law enforcement.

Could you elaborate on your ideas?

I agree with the British system:

Any doctor can prescribe any drug for any purpose as they see fit.