Australian & Asian
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

oxycodone authority scripts

lioney

Greenlighter
Hi, I am new to bluelight but not to meds....I take them for migraine, just had a question about authority scripts for oxycodone and medicare, switching drs etc...am I in the correct area? I changed drs abut 2 weeks ago to go to someone that bulk bills. The first gp prescribed me an authorityscript for oxycodone 5mg, 120 capsules..1 months supply. That was back on April 1-14 (so nearly 2 months ago).

I haven't had another authority from that gp and don't go there anymore. The new dr has been happy to prescribe me single scripts for my med of 5mg oxy and was talking about an authority script in next cpl of weeks. I was just wondering if the new gp will be told by medicare I was once given an authority 2 months ago or not, is this why drs have to call monthly as the authority doesn't stay valid and it's a new "script each time", I hoe I'm making sense. I did't discuss details of where I'd come from dr wise with him, just that I was changing because they bulk bill and I was new to the area.
Cheers...

i'm not trying to get anything past them, I haven't done anything wrong. But I was just wondering what the terms are with authority scripts and a new dr writing one 2 mths later?

It's ok....thanks for that, was just wondering as I've changed GP's to someone closer. That's all.

I'm surprised they're prescribing oxy for migraines. Its very unusual for that to occur.

I guess it's better than regular morphine shots which I used to get....I have chronic migraine, tension headaches so its very painful. I also had a stroke a few yrs ago and can't rely on manipulations from chriros anymore as thats what caused it, I used to get such relief from going there.

^ sounds nasty. Chronic migraines are a brutal condition.
I hope you get the pain relief you need with a minimum of fuss.