Australian & Asian
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

Naloxone/Other Current 'Alternative' Cures for Opiate Addiction

centeotl

Greenlighter
I'm a Brisbane student writing a non-fiction piece on the experiences and attitudes towards recently approved drugs in use for the treatment of opoid addictions. I can always get the opinions of local and international researchers/enforcers/clinicians but the experience of the users themselves is premium stuff, especially since
my drug circles are almost exclusively into soft stuff. I'm interested in the controversies around the treatment of addiction as well, stigmas, job market opportunities and all that jazz.

I mentioned Naloxone in the title because of the recent FDA approval of a hand-held version of the drug for the emergency treatment of opoid overdose symptoms. Info on that here (if you haven't already heard): http://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/Newsroom/PressAnnouncements/ucm391465.htm

Has anyone been treated with Naloxone in Australia? Does anyone know the current emergency overdose treatment protocols in Aus? For the particularly brave, would anyone agree to be interviewed about their experiences kicking a habit? What kind of home-cures are going around etc? (Not that I condone home-cures, with the state of the health sector here at the moment I wouldn't be surprised that there were a heap of different home-cures and related experiences I could put down on paper).

Cheers!