• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Long time addict seeks support for first time heroin detox- backstory included

MadamHatter

Greenlighter
Never mind the backstory, I'm an awful person, I'll leave it at that.

I took my last shot this morning and I'm terrified. I've been using heroin heavily for the past two years, now it's time to detox, pretty much cold turkey. I'm very weak willed, a total pussy when it comes to being sick or any kind of discomfort or suffering. I'm trying to have a positive attitude, but I'm scared. I have multivitamins, skullcap, a small amount of 5mg vicodan and Tylenol 3, some L-lysine. I have a comfy bed, towels, puke bucket. Tomorrow I'll be able to get some Immodium.

General advice and/or encouragement is greatly needed and appreciated. Especially would love to hear mental strategies used by those who have gone through heroin withdrawal. Never in the past 2 years have I ever been all the way sick. I always fold like a cheap suit early in.

Humbly asking for help.

Last edited:
I'm in the middle of, hopefully, my last one right now. I've been trying to get clean since Christmas.
Only advice I have is if you fall, get up and try again and again and...

Never mind the backstory, I'm an awful person, I'll leave it at that.

I took my last shot this morning and I'm terrified. I've been using heroin heavily for the past two years, now it's time to detox, pretty much cold turkey. I'm very weak willed, a total pussy when it comes to being sick or any kind of discomfort or suffering. I'm trying to have a positive attitude, but I'm scared. I have multivitamins, skullcap, a small amount of 5mg vicodan and Tylenol 3, some L-lysine. I have a comfy bed, towels, puke bucket. Tomorrow I'll be able to get some Immodium.