• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Levoamphetamine vs. Caffeine - Similar Effects?

Black_Lite

Greenlighter
Hi everyone,

I've lurked for a long time, and done a ton of reading here, mainly from Google searches, but I registered today and did some searches on my topic as well. I'm new at this, so I might have missed some threads. I've read the site rules and user guide, and I think I'm ok posting a thread as a newbie. If this isn't kosher, someone kindly inform me.

I have ADHD. Tomorrow I'm either going to choose Adderall or Dexedrine. I've tried many medicines. I'm going to try one of these now.

I know D-amp is the "good stuff", and that Dexedrine is 100% D-amp, while Adderall is 75% D-amp, 25% L-amp.

L-amp gets a very bad rap, and I'm sure a lot of it is well deserved. The effects of this drug basically determine my decision tomorrow. I know chemically, they're extremely different, but in terms of practical effects, can L-amp be compared to Caffeine? From what I've read, there's a lot of overlap between the effects between the two.

I need caffeine to get going in the morning. I tolerate it reasonably well. How reductive or otherwise inaccurate is it to say that Adderall is like Dexedrine plus Caffeine? It would be nice to get some D-Amp and reduce my Caffeine intake at the same time.

Again, apologies if I've broken any etiquette rules. Sorry for the quirky formatting, I'm on my phone.

L-amphetamine is a much weaker analog of D-amphetamine (1/10 as strong approx) that is more selective for NE release than dopamine release. So it's mostly just semiactive filler in Adderall. It certainly doesn't have a major influence on its effects.