• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Kratom v. Codeine Receptor Affinity

dus_aster

Bluelighter
I'll keep this brief-
Will codeine, if taken intrarectally a few hours after a dose of kratom (15g, which, with my tolerance, feels roughly equivalent to 7g in a slightly tolerant individual) fail to produce an effect due to most of the opioid peptide receptors being occupied by the kratom alkaloids?
Or, will it's effectiveness take a hit but still bolster the kratom high?

Not looking for definitive 'you will/won't feel it' so much as the on-paper science and/or anecdotal information; I'm still relatively new to competitive binding affinities.

Any help appreciated! :)
Please (gently) correct me if my terminology is off, too!

ps:
fwiw the codeine dosage is ~240mg

Kratom is a partial agonist, but too little is understood about its opioid activity to really say for sure. I've seen mixed reports on this. Some say kratom reduces the effects of other opioids while others say it enhances the effects. I don't think there's a single answer here.

IME it can synergize with weak opioids but not stronger ones. I have not taken kratom with codeine though

Thank you for the response; alas, I sincerely hope that more medical research is done into kratom in the coming years (not likely, given the message the US ban sends to the industry- sigh)

Well, for what it's worth, I administered it at T+2:00 (T= kratom admin. time)...
It prolonged the plateau, and I enjoyed a very brief (~90 second) rush and nod, but it offered little in the way of subjective increase in effect.
Granted, codeine generally feels negligible if I take it after any other opiate; less distance between baseline and plateau?