• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Klonopin and Oxycodone question/opinions

jojo1234

Greenlighter
So, I have been taking oxycodone faithfully for over 5 years. I've never "missed" a monthly appt. I take the med for low back pain. My current dosage is 10mg/4 times per day (I get 120 a month). Anyways, I'm a 40-year-old female, and struggled with "anxiety" my entire life. I thought it was about time to get help (I also work in the mental health field). Long story short, my primary doctor placed me on klonopin 1mg to be taken 3 times a day. What I've noticed (and here's my question), I truly believe that the klonopin is helping me taper down from the oxy (something I've been trying to do for years). Anybody else have similar experiences? An anti-anxiety helping them lower their need for pain meds? Thxs in advance!!

While I was on Klonopin, I noticed it truly helped with my anxiety and held my migraines at bay-no pain at all, but it then had the adverse side effect of causing lumps of hair to fall out.

This is not surprising. Benzodiazepines and Opioids, like with other CNS depressants, have a synergistic effect. Also, 1mg three times per day is actually a pretty hefty dose of Clonazepam (Klonopin) to be starting out with. Don't be confused by the fact that Benzodiazepines are used as anxiolytics, they actually have a lot of physical effects as well. If you take a Benzodiazepine while in Opioid withdrawal, you will no doubt find it makes you feel better.