View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Identifying magic mushrooms

Favero

Greenlighter
I am very new to the picking and subsequent use of shrooms, but have read some very positive stuff about taking them, including liberty caps. It was Liberty caps I have been looking for as I'm a keen hiker anyway. Could anyone confirm if the attached photographs showing the shrooms are liberty caps? They were picked on Sunday 9th October on fields where livestock are and were on south facing open land in the middle of tufts of grass about 10 inches in depth

DSC_1897_zpsxbvnk9cw.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

We don't allow ID threads on the forum I'm afraid, but I can tell you that I don't think those are P. Semilanceata (aka Liberty Caps). These aren't pointy at all, and look quite a bit too large (although it's hard to determine the scale). No idea about other Psilocybe species, but you don't pick mushrooms hoping randomly that they're Psilocybes. Also, not all Psilocybes are so potent that you ought to eat them.

I wonder if those ^ are more like Agrocybe Pediades, but I can't really tell.

You have a lot more researching to do before you go eating picked mushrooms, since what matters most is not that psilocin has interesting effects but that you can correctly identify a mushroom species and can afford to eat lookalikes of it. Maybe buy a mushroom hunting guide and learn to identify various sorts of mushrooms (perhaps you come to like hunting edibles as well). Over time you should get feel for differing characteristics and maybe use determination keys.
I hunt mushrooms but primarily edibles right now... I only pick and eat ones that I can safely identify, meaning that I'm confident about which ones they are and very importantly - like I said - I checked which lookalikes there are and that they are not toxic.

Sorry to rain on your parade..