• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

HELP! Who Has Successfully Asked / Received A Pay-Raise?

lucifersam666

Bluelight Crew
Hey BL,
I was looking for advice and suggestions on how to go about getting a raise.
I've never done this before. So feel free to tell me if it's based from your experience, something you read, or just what you think/feel is a good route to take.
Also, if all else fails, can someone please shed some light towards a logical/ respectful contingency plan (e.g.. if the company's upward mobility/pay raise rates aren't suitable for me I need a contingency plan)

My questions:
1.-- When should I ask for a raise?
2.-- How should I (bring it up when I do) ask for a raise?
3.-- If I am given a raise, and it is too low, how do I politely rebuttal?
4.-- Is there a percentage or some type of rule-of-thumb that helps with determining an employees raise?
or on the inverse, how would I figure a fair number to give them if they ask me what I think i should be paid.
4.-- Is this just a job or is it something that could become a career? How?
5. -- Are there other jobs (regardless of titles) that get paid a lot more for submitting proposals, quoting, estimating, bidding, etc. like I have been doing?
6. -- Once my facts are straight, more research, etc. and then i am prepared...Who should I bring this up to at work? --HR, branch manager, corporate (from another state), hmm?
7.-- Lastly, In a worst case scenario, if this job just isn't going to work with me, what industry would you all recommend me? (example:

Here is a super brief work background:
We fabricate, install and sell heavy-duty rubber to industrial companies (construction, power plants, coal mines, etc.) all over the USA & Canada.
My position/job title is Customer Service/ Inside Sales...So I have an office desk.
Although that is what my job title says on paper, I primarily provide quotes and estimates to our customers and submit bids and proposals.