• REAGENT TESTING & DRUG CHECKING Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Featured Link 1 Featured Link 2
  • RT&DC Moderators: arrall

Contaminated 3-FPM - Chemist's Advice Wanted

Lerpopolis

Greenlighter
Hi,

This question is for knowledgable chemists only, as I have plenty of experienced friends that can offer guesses and ideas, and I am also very knowledgable, but in certain aspects of pharmacology, not chemistry. Thank you.

I have a known, well-tested batch of 3-FPM. I stored about 2 grams in a vacation location with various other precious chemicals in a small tin box, all in cork sealed vials, tucked down into a relatively dry storage trunk, for one year, in a dark, cool place varying in temp from about 50-74F, but mostly on the cool side.

I returned this year to find a small wet, empty bag that appeared to be made of medical tape (but probably wasn't medical tape) in a small pool of yellowish sticky liquid that had gotten on several of the vials. It tasted very sour/bitter/acrid. Unfortunately it seeped into one vial of 3-FPM.

My guess is, it was a desiccant pack that I habitually put in the box. I'm confused though because silica gel and other desiccants I've known don't usually dissolve into goo when very wet, they just get very wet. I'm wondering whether it might have been some other desiccant technology I'm unaware of.

I don't put wet things in my box, and I keep it in a dry place, so this seems to be the most likely guess at what happened.

The 3-FPM looks 'fine' but it's very wet, and it 'may' taste more sour/acrid than normal. I imagine it must, if that liquid got in.

QUESTIONS: 1. does anyone have any further insight into what may have happened, and 2. how risky might it be to slowly assay the material, and by that I mean, take 1 mg, wait some time, if all feels right after an hour or two, try 2 mg, etc.

Thank you in advance.