• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Recovery Buprenorphine taper - length of stabilization when changing dose

FatBellyWhipSlay

Bluelighter
So I went own from 0.8mg to 0.4mg on Monday in accordance to my tapering plan from clinic doc.

I am on day 5 off the new dose and struggling, its not full withdrawal but i am say 50% there all the time, not much sleep and no comfort meds.

I know in the past when I have cut down a dose it normally takes around 5 days to stabilize on the new dose so would expect to feel betterish today but I dont

will it be longer as i am cutting down 50% of my intake ? if so how long do you think ? I know timelines differ but thought i might be a bit better today. I have been on bupe for 18th months.

I did ask for a 0.2 reduction but the clinic I go to said they dont that only 0.4 splits and that "you cant get 0.2 tablets anyway" which is BS as my chemist said she has some...

I have no personal experience with bupe, but I do have plenty of experience with opiate withdrawals so I understand and appreciate the discomfort. I dont have any answers for your bupe reduction specific questions, but others will. However, for the comfort meds, can you get some doxylamine from the drug store? 1-2 tablets should definitely help you get some sleep, even if it's only 3-4 hours sleep, it's better than no sleep.
Are you feeling that uncomfortable that there is a risk of you seeking other opiates?

I have no personal experience with bupe, but I do have plenty of experience with opiate withdrawals so I understand and appreciate the discomfort. I dont have any answers for your bupe reduction specific questions, but others will. However, for the comfort meds, can you get some doxylamine from the drug store? 1-2 tablets should definitely help you get some sleep, even if it's only 3-4 hours sleep, it's better than no sleep.
Are you feeling that uncomfortable that there is a risk of you seeking other opiates?